A special cake for a very special girl. 

First on my list of “weekly projects”, making my daughter’s birthday cake! I had previously posted that I would be making something like this;

Here’s what I came up with!

These were made days in advance, so the fondant would harden.

The crowns were made out of royal icing!

Same day preparation:

The bottom tier is funfetti cake with a whipped marshmallow buttercream!

The top-tier is Chocolate with a chocolate Ghirardelli whipped buttercream.

All of the fondant is vanilla flavored.

The ruffle layers are petals that I stuck to the cake.

Then, one in the morning rolled around and pictures slowed down, the cake just needed to be finished. I watched a tutorial for the fondant bow. It was very easy, and I was able to stick it to the cake while soft. I got a little sloppy with the second layer, unfortunately. As you can see, the chocolate is showing through the light-colored fondant and is not smooth. Just a small flaw…

This was my first time covering a cake with fondant, stacking with fondant and decorating a cake with fondant! I really enjoyed making this cake, and learned a lot along the way. I definitely feel like this was a very tedious project that took a lot of time. It was also a very rewarding project, and I will be making more in the future! This also made me realize what it takes to be a cake baker. If you order a custom cake, expect to pay a nice chunk of change, they deserve every penny!

Thanks for reading!

I will post pictures when it’s cut!

2 thoughts on “A special cake for a very special girl. 

Leave a Reply

