My beautiful daughters, my biggest challenge.

These two. Sure, they look sweet and adorable, and they are, for the most part. Vivian and Scarlett. Two little girls.”Kids will be kids”, they say, but have they ever explained to what degree we’d be dealing with here? I love these two little beings with my whole heart. In fact, I find myself putting most of my everything into them. All the time. I wouldn’t have it any other way. The other half of the time, is for my dear husband. For now, let’s focus on these two. Vivian is 4, while Scarlett is almost 2.

I remember this day, adorable as ever in their matching dresses. Vivian had just turned 3, Scarlett was only a couple months old. I think it was this very moment where they decided to make a pact. Terrorize mom. They say actions speak louder than words, and although I don’t have video footage of these cherished times, I do have pictures. So now, I will let the pictures do the talking.

480119_10201446906077298_832256150_n-2

Now, we will start with Vivian. Vivian was my first child. Coincidentally enough her name actually means lively. Yea, that about sounds right. Don’t get me wrong, she is THE sweetest girl ever. I can’t even begin to tell you how much this little girl has been a blessing. I mean look at that face;

IMG_8148

Adorable.

Now, look at this face…

IMG_5524

Because who doesn’t love that first “I found my mom’s makeup!”

That’s nothing a mother can’t handle..pretty basic.

Well, Vivian decided to go through a “I found my mom’s art supplies!” phase..

IMG_3362IMG_3363

Acrylic paint. On the floor. On her precious items. Chairs, table, walls. You name it. After this was all said and done, punishments were given, I figured it would blow over.

That’s where this comes in..

IMG_3211

Nail polish. Now, I have never turned Vivian down when she has asked for her nails painted, so I was very surprised to see this. The unicorn isn’t the only stuffed animal who suffered this horrible fate. The others? They were given pink eyeballs.

IMG_3905 IMG_4070

My conclusion to the “Vivian story?” She’s 4. She’s a sweet little 4 year old who is living a happy life. I take the bad with the good. Count my blessings…”It could be worse” sort of thing.

IMG_4227

Maybe, I spoke too soon….

Scarlett. Scarlett Isabelle. The Brute. This baby. Well, not a baby anymore. She has kept me on my toes from day 1.

IMG_5267

We dealt with the basic baby milestones. “I found the containers!”

IMG_5556

“Drawers are so much fun!”

IMG_5123

.. Access to a whole new world (or just the counters.) Thats when things started to escalate quickly.

IMG_5906

“Need help cleaning out the pantry?”

IMG_6372

“I found the toilet paper!” She even managed to drag it from the bathroom to the kitchen to show me.

IMG_4930IMG_4927

With a little help from a big sister, you can even find this adorable baby hiding under the table, covered in delicious Nutella. I don’t even think she was truly sorry. Especially after that second picture.

Now, the reason behind all of this is fairly simple. CHAIRS. Children chairs and step stools. I think I have managed to hide all of them behind the baby gate. This is where that all began.

IMG_5514

IMG_9811

Darn chairs.

IMG_8127

This actually happened.

IMG_9893

Who needs paper?

IMG_9948

“Mom’s Valentines day candy? Sure! Why not?”

IMG_8793

IMG_7092

Need I say more?

So for now, I watch these beautiful girls play and wreck havoc. They are the perfect little partners in crime. Scarlett will be two in exactly two weeks, after all. So, bring on the terrible two’s????

-You want to know what’s the funniest thing about all of this? This is me as a child. I try to remember that God never gives you more than you can handle. Besides, my parents did warn me that payback would be coming once I had kids. I have to admit, they were right.

Thanks for reading! (Laughing, I’m sure.)

2 thoughts on “My beautiful daughters, my biggest challenge.

Leave a Reply

